Planting a Dream

This spring, I am planting my first vegetable garden.

We have lived in this house for seventeen years and I have wanted to plant a vegetable garden for at least fifteen. Over this period of time I have dropped hints around many a Mother’s Day how nice it would be to have someone build a couple of raised beds to plant a garden. I have asked my husband to help me rent a rototiller in order to clear a space for said garden. My husband is not much of a yard and garden person. The extent of working in the yard for him is to  mow the lawn. So getting him interested in putting in extra labor for a garden became a moot point. And so these requests have fallen  on deaf ears.

Last summer, while spending time with my grandson, I took him for a walk in their little neighborhood in town. As we made our way from street to street, I admired the charm and character of the old houses that make up this conclave from another era. As we ventured farther down a tree-lined street, I noticed stalks from corn plants in the distance, their golden tassels waving in the breeze. As we moved closer, I could see that these plants were part of a little urban garden, planted along the side of the garage.

Eureka! Why hadn’t I thought of that? I could transform the struggling flower garden bordering the garage in our back yard into a vegetable garden! It would be the perfect location. It  receives sunlight most of the day, and is already plant ready. There is a water source nearby and I wouldn’t need to use anyone else’s sweat equity. I also enjoy having a project to start off my summer and this would fill that need.

So, my vegetable list is started. The seed catalogs are ordered. This spring, I am planting my first vegetable garden!

 

 

Author: hansonberries

As a teacher of sixth graders, ma special place is my classroom; my home-away-from-home. My first home I share with my husband, our dog Quincy, two cats, and my tortoise friend, Misha. I also have been blessed with a horse named Arjay. We have three adult children and five grandchildren, the joy of our lives. Life is good. I am an equestrian, a writer, a reader, a gardener, and I repurpose furniture.

10 thoughts on “Planting a Dream”

  1. Good luck with your garden! There is nothing better than vegetables fresh from the garden. I have always wanted to have a vegetable garden, too, but like your husband, I am not much into yard work. I am more of a planner than a doer, I guess!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Woo Hoo! Reminds me of the year I planted tomatoes behind our garage in Texas. This year it will be tomatoes in containers on the driveway. Best spot for sunshine and a bit of heat in the NW.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment