The Rescue of our little “Kitten”

Saturday we were preparing to celebrate my husband’s 60th birthday. I had spent the morning at the barn mucking stalls (something I actually enjoy doing!) and made it home in time to shower and get ready before our daughters started arriving. Our son had arrived on Friday night from a farther destination so we were excited to have everyone together.

As I stood in front of the bathroom mirror adding finishing touches to my hair and reflecting on how fortunate we are to have everyone home together,  I heard yelling from downstairs. This wasn’t just a “Hi! We’re here!” yelling. This was a more panicked, “Hello! Is ANYONE here?”

My husband was in the basement family room and our son had run to the store to replace French bread the dog had devoured. (That’s a story for another time.) So it appeared that no one was around. But both my husband and I responded quickly to the voice that was clearly distraught.

“Call AAA! Seryn is locked in the car!”

Seryn is our little 23 month old granddaughter and despite the newer technology that keeps cars from locking with the keys in the ignition, the keys were locked in the car along with Seryn!

My husband, always cool and collected, quickly called. “Have you called the police?” the AAA representative asked. “They will get there much faster.”

At the same time, our son-in-law appeared at the door. “I just called the police!” Now why hadn’t we thought of that right away? Thank goodness he was clear-headed enough to think of that on his own!

In the meantime, Seryn had started to calm down from inside the car. She was first crying, probably wondering why her parents were not getting her out of the car. Now she just sat calmly in her car seat, staring at us. Within minutes, the fire department arrived in Engine 53 to rescue little Seryn. We were all relieved that they came without sirens blaring, so Seryn would not be frightened and more importantly (tongue in cheek here) so that we would not draw neighbors out of their homes to gawk at the spectacle were certainly making.

With some interesting tools and a great deal of patience, the firefighters worked to coax the lock open. We were all grateful that the temperature was not the frigid norm for this time of year in Michigan. Nor the heat of the summer. Both reasons for breaking the car window rather than working so methodically as they did.

Later, as Seryn was released from her temporary prison, the firefighters gave her a “badge” and a collector’s card featuring Engine 53, both items that will be put in her baby book for a memory of this memorable day.

We are thankful to the firefighters that came to the rescue Saturday and that a situation that could have been much more dangerous at another time, turned out so positively.

Author: hansonberries

As a teacher of sixth graders, I have found a special place in my classroom every day, my home-away-from-home. My first home I share with my husband, our dog Quincy, two cats, and my tortoise friend, Misha. I also have been blessed with a horse named Belle. We have three adult children and four grandchildren, the joy of our lives. Life is good. I am an equestrian and also enjoy writing, reading, and gardening.

5 thoughts on “The Rescue of our little “Kitten””

  1. Oh my. That sounds like quite a night. I really enjoyed the way you paced your piece. I felt like I was speeding up when the story was most critical and slowing down to savor other parts. The little snippets of dialogue certainly helped me to feel like I was right there with you. I’m sure Seyrn was relieved to be free.

    Cathy

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

