Mouse Tales

I opened my desk drawer. I was staring at an open granola bar. Why did I leave an open granola bar in my drawer? It took a few moments for it to register. I didn’t. I had had a visitor. And although it remained a mystery how it had made its way into my desk, it wasn’t a mystery where in my desk it had been. The chewed wrapper. Gnawed ibuprofen tablets (did it have a headache?. Telltale droppings.

Our school sits in a wooded area. My classroom is at the end of the hallway near the entrance that faces a field and the edge of the woods. The gaps under the doors are perfect for mice who can contort their bodies and fit through the smallest of openings.

Although I am not a fan of mice, I felt remorse filling out a service ticket notifying building and grounds of my visitor. I knew that there would be a quick response and traps would be set. I couldn’t help but think of the mice in Mrs. Frisby and the Rats of NIMH. Mrs. Frisby without her husband, the little mice without a father, not because of traps but an equally dangerous cat.

Was I planning the demise of this mouse, perhaps leaving a mouse family somewhere without its father figure…Get a grip! Hit enter and send the service order!

Author: hansonberries

As a teacher of sixth graders, I have found a special place in my classroom every day, my home-away-from-home. My first home I share with my husband, our dog Quincy, two cats, and my tortoise friend, Misha. I also have been blessed with a horse named Belle. We have three adult children and four grandchildren, the joy of our lives. Life is good. I am an equestrian and also enjoy writing, reading, and gardening.

5 thoughts on “Mouse Tales”

  1. Oh, boy! I’ve had this happen not so long ago in my little cubbyhole of an office at school. Poor little mice…but yet I also don’t want to share my space so much with them! I loved your description of realizing who your little visitor was–that brought back the memory of mine!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

