Sweeping Away Winter

Welcome Spring! A beautiful day welcomed Spring today. Sunny though a bit chilly, but warm enough to go outside in a flannel shirt. Pleasant enough to inspire me to sweep out and straighten the garage.

As I swept, I said goodbye to the build-up of salt and sand that had accumulated from the melting snow that had made its way in via the cars. And although I was sprucing up our garage, I was doing more than that.

Swipe – goodbye dreariness. Swipe – goodbye bitter cold. Swipe – goodbye snow pants and leather mittens. Swipe – goodbye icy roads. Swipe – hello longer days. Swipe – hello songbirds. Swipe – hello daffodils. Swipe – hello gentle breezes.

Goodbye winter. Until we meet again.

Author: hansonberries

As a teacher of sixth graders, I have found a special place in my classroom every day, my home-away-from-home. My first home I share with my husband, our dog Quincy, two cats, and my tortoise friend, Misha. I also have been blessed with a horse named Belle. We have three adult children and four grandchildren, the joy of our lives. Life is good. I am an equestrian and also enjoy writing, reading, and gardening.

6 thoughts on “Sweeping Away Winter”

  1. I love the repeated “swipe” and the revealing of something that you’re letting go or something that you’re welcoming. Your slice also made me feel grateful for spring’s soon arrival!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. “And although I was sprucing up our garage, I was doing more than that.”

    I took this to mean that you were thinking like a writer even as you were doing the work of cleaning up the garage, and I see how that led to all of the figurative things you were sweeping away.

    Thought provoking!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

