Oh Deer!

It’s time to refill the bird feeders. They have remained empty throughout the winter months. They should have been filled all of winter, but my dear deer friends enjoy butting them with their heads to empty them on the ground. So I tend not to fill them during the winter. The birds stop coming during the coldest months, searching elsewhere for the energy/heat producing food needed to sustain their little bodies.

It was windy today and watching the empty bird feeders swinging from the branch of our maple tree, made me think of filling them. Filling them now will attract returning birds as well as those that have stayed the winter. Filling them will probably attract the deer.

Earlier this evening, my dog was laying near the windows in our front room that overlook our neighbor’s yard. His growl started as a low rumble in his throat. His ears perked forward as he peered intently in the direction of woods. Alarmed, I looked in the direction of his stare.

There they were. Four does. Munching on the daffodil and hyacinth leaves just beginning to peek above the earth in my neighbor’s garden. There’s no doubt – we will be next!

Man the bird feeders! Now they’re going for the good stuff!

Author: hansonberries

As a teacher of sixth graders, I have found a special place in my classroom every day, my home-away-from-home. My first home I share with my husband, our dog Quincy, two cats, and my tortoise friend, Misha. I also have been blessed with a horse named Belle. We have three adult children and four grandchildren, the joy of our lives. Life is good. I am an equestrian and also enjoy writing, reading, and gardening.

3 thoughts on “Oh Deer!”

Leave a Reply

