That’s a Wrap!

I recently wrote about taking a chance and jumping in feet first to give my students an opportunity to create newscasts for the final assessment of our unit on the Amazon rain forest. I was nervous and hesitant to let them go, not having much experience with iMovie.

They were ecstatic to have the chance to do something different and had no qualms about using iPads and iPhones to record skits that they wrote and created, costumes and all!

After days of taping, editing, adding backgrounds, and finalizing, their newscasts are done.

Tomorrow is a half day before we begin our spring break. We will spend the first hour sharing each group’s newscast. I am excited for them to share their videos. No matter the outcomes, they all learned something new, as did I, right along with them.

What started as a scary experience for me – relinquishing some control is difficult- became one of the best experiences I have had with my students. I’m so glad I took the plunge!

And that’s a wrap!

Author: hansonberries

As a teacher of sixth graders, I have found a special place in my classroom every day, my home-away-from-home. My first home I share with my husband, our dog Quincy, two cats, and my tortoise friend, Misha. I also have been blessed with a horse named Belle. We have three adult children and four grandchildren, the joy of our lives. Life is good. I am an equestrian and also enjoy writing, reading, and gardening.

Leave a Reply

