Pining for Pines

The winds came and went over the last 24  hours. 60-65 miles per hour. The news this evening was filled with stories of at risk buildings toppling, roofs being peeled away like the top if a sardine can, semis being blown over. When I arrived home, our garbage can had been blown over, trash scattered across the lawn and into the street.

And then I looked across the street. The beautiful, majestic pine trees in our neighbor’s front  yard were being removed, having been blown over from the winds. This makes me sad. I have admired them since we moved into our home twenty years ago, thinking how much character they added to the landscape of that particular yard. And now they are gone.

For now, the corner of the lot looks barren, a scar left in the grass where the trees grew. Soon, the spot will become less noticeable until one day, it will be forgotten that the trees ever existed.

The reality of life itself.

 

Author: hansonberries

As a teacher of sixth graders, I have found a special place in my classroom every day, my home-away-from-home. My first home I share with my husband, our dog Quincy, two cats, and my tortoise friend, Misha. I also have been blessed with a horse named Belle. We have three adult children and four grandchildren, the joy of our lives. Life is good. I am an equestrian and also enjoy writing, reading, and gardening.

3 thoughts on “Pining for Pines”

  1. We too are in the midst of high winds. I am amazed at the strength of the trees. They sway with the wind…reminding me that sometimes it is necessary to just go with the flow. Sometimes when we (or the pine) stand too rigid, we tend to crack.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

