Blast From the Past

My husband and I started a new decade of our lives earlier this year and our children bought us tickets to see Earth, Wind, and Fire and Chicago last Friday night. We “grew up” during the heyday of these two groups and loved their music and its messages.

We were like two teenagers as we moved through the line to enter the arena. Gone was the relaxed atmosphere of that era. Instead we entered through the security arch, emptying our pockets of phones, keys, and anything else that might set off the alarm. It was much like going through security at the airport minus removing your shoes.

But this would not deter us from enjoying our evening, It is just a fact of living in the 21st century and we could hardly wait to be whisked away to days gone by.

The two groups did not disappoint. Playing together and then each featured separately, they played and sang all of their popular standards with a twist, when they performed together. A solid two and a half hour show. Where do the original members, now in their seventies, get the energy to play so emotionally for such long periods of time, never missing a beat?

What a wonderful trip down memory lane. And I even remembered the words!

Author: hansonberries

As a teacher of sixth graders, I have found a special place in my classroom every day, my home-away-from-home. My first home I share with my husband, our dog Quincy, two cats, and my tortoise friend, Misha. I also have been blessed with a horse named Belle. We have three adult children and four grandchildren, the joy of our lives. Life is good. I am an equestrian and also enjoy writing, reading, and gardening.

4 thoughts on “Blast From the Past”

Leave a Reply

