Our first blessing – Everett

In the last two and a half years, my husband and I have been blessed with three tiny people entering our lives. The first of these blessings is Everett. Last night we traveled a short half an  hour’s drive to our daughter’s to visit Everett and his tiny newborn sister, Cora.

Anyone who  has had their own children or grandchildren, nieces, nephews, or any other exposure to little ones, knows how quickly they can change from day to day, week to week. So it is always  amazing to see the transformation that seems to have occurred from one visit to the next.

As we settled in to our first evening alone with these two bundles of warmth and love, we were to witness the change in our little grandson. Not long ago, he was the babe swaddled in a receiving blanket, helpless and dependent on his caregivers for every need. Now it is his little sister. Since his birth and the arrival of Cora,  Everett is now truly the “Big Brother” that was announced to the world a year ago via the t-shirt he wore to surprise us.

Watching him gently pat Cora’s head to soothe her when she cried or angelically leaning towards her to place a kiss on her cheek made me suddenly realize how much he has grown emotionally and transformed into a caring little boy. As I watched him move between pushing his dump truck across the carpet and pushing the buttons on the baby bouncer, I felt a surge of love and  pride in this little boy that was not long ago a babe himself.

Our first and continued blessing – EVERETT.

 

Author: hansonberries

As a teacher of sixth graders, I have found a special place in my classroom every day, my home-away-from-home. My first home I share with my husband, our dog Quincy, two cats, and my tortoise friend, Misha. I also have been blessed with a horse named Belle. We have three adult children and four grandchildren, the joy of our lives. Life is good. I am an equestrian and also enjoy writing, reading, and gardening.

4 thoughts on “Our first blessing – Everett”

  1. As I read your writing, I felt the love you have for Everett and for being a grandparent. As my own mother tells me often, being a grandmother is the best thing in the world! How lucky your grandchildren are to have you!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

