Spic and Span

Yesterday was a much welcomed snow day  here in Michigan. This is only our third snow day this winter which is quite unusual. As a teacher, I savor these days to catch up on things at home. Things that take a back seat to school work. Like cleaning.

I decided to tackle our laundry room, a place that has given me considerable angst since we moved into this house seventeen years ago. And yes, it has taken me seventeen years to build up enough annoyance to finally do something about it!

After putting together a shelving unit we recently purchased to organize my husband’s racquetball gear, I then began the process of cleaning and organizing the cabinets. Old cleaning supplies, batteries of questionable use, odds and ends of things that probably once had a purpose but have since lost their identity were all disposed of. With shelves wiped down, the floor swept and mopped and everything in its place, I took some quick pictures to send in a message to my husband. A kind of, “Look at what I accomplished today!” message.

“I hope you like and will use the shelves for your bags,” my text said. His reply?

“How will I know where anything is if it’s organized?”

No comment.

 

 

Author: hansonberries

As a teacher of sixth graders, I have found a special place in my classroom every day, my home-away-from-home. My first home I share with my husband, our dog Quincy, two cats, and my tortoise friend, Misha. I also have been blessed with a horse named Belle. We have three adult children and four grandchildren, the joy of our lives. Life is good. I am an equestrian and also enjoy writing, reading, and gardening.

4 thoughts on “Spic and Span”

  1. Oh, he didn’t! No comment, indeed. Husbands- just gotta love them.

    Congrats on accomplishing something with your snow day. We haven’t had any this year, but I usually end up savoring time to read rather than catching up on housework like I always intend- especially if there is any snow shoveling to do.

    Like

Leave a Reply

